2009 Awards

Sunshine Coast Credit Union Scholarships $250 Scholarships

Piano: Anthony Willmer
PWB: Henry Wood
Strings: Kiel Strang, Oliver Telfer
Vocal: Claire McGillivray

Coast Recital Society Adjudicator’s Choic $200 Awards

Piano: Oliver Gidora
PWB: Addie Fearnley
Strings: Esme McLaughlin-Brooks
Vocal: Holly Beckmyer

Sunshine Coast Arts Council Provincial Candidate $100 Awards

Piano: Holly Beckmyer
PWB: Henry Wood Observers: Liam Bonser, Addie Fearnley
Strings, Observers: Kiel Strang, Oliver Telfer
Vocal: Claire McGillivray
Choral: A Capella Strait, Choralations Children’s Choir

Multi-Discipline Awards

Barbara Cattanach Aggregate Achievement Award and Registered Music Teachers Association Medallion $100: Talia Strang


Howe Sound Pulp and Paper Silver Challenge Trophy $100: Julie Shibasaka
Aletta Gilker Top Performance Trophy $100: Anthony Willmer
Merv & Sunny Charbonneau Senior Trophy $100: Oliver Gidora
Miss Sunny’s Hair Boutique Intermediate Trophy: $75 Bryn Davies
Miss Sunny’s Hair Boutique Junior Trophy: $50 Teal Randle
George and Elizabeth McKee Repertoire Trophy: $100* Julie Shibasaka
St. Bart’s Piano Collaboration $200 Award: Anneka Bonser with Liam Bonser, flute

Piano Awards Presented at Piano Highlights Concert

Wynne Ling Older Beginner Piano Trophy: Elena Kohuch
May Freer Memorial Sightreading Trophy: Oliver Gidora
Patricia Stuart Baroque Piano Trophy: Keenan Petty
Jessie Morrison Classical Piano Trophy: Anthony Willmer, Talia Strang
Elizabeth Kennett Romantic Piano Trophy: Oliver Gidora
Margaret Webb Post-Romantic Trophy: Holly Beckmyer
SuperValu 20/21st Century Trophy: Delia Anderson
Barbara Cattanach Intermediate Canadian Composers Trophy: Anthony Willmer
Arlys Peters Folk Song Medallion: Taliesin Sanford
Hilda Mitton Performer’s Choice Classical Trophy: Elena Kohuch
Joan & Graham Edney Performer’s Choice Popular Trophy: Anthony Willmer
Technical Studies Medallion: Elena Kohuch
Piano Duet I Medallions: Justin Crosby & Karl Petersohn, Talia Strang & Taliesin Sanford
Piano Duet II Medallions: Julie Shibasaka & Mitsuko Shibasaka
Val Rutter Chamber Music Medallion: Emily Wood, piano & Henry Wood, violin
Ken Dalgleish Own Composition Piano Tuning Award: Delia Anderson

Adjudicator’s Choice Most Promising Young Performer Medallions:

Senior: Emily Wood
Intermediate: Esme McLaughlin-Brooks
Junior: Spencer Wilson
Introductory: Brison Geue

Electronic & Acoustic

1st Place Original Composition Group $75: Frankie Cottrell with Anthony Willmer
1st Place Original Composition Solo: Charlie Daigneault
1st Place Group $75: Apogee – Tiegan Daniels, Emily Wood, Henry Wood, Holly Beckmyer, David Williams
1st Place Solo $50: Meagan Burns

Adjudicator’s Choice Most Promising Young Performer Medallions:

Most Promising Own Composition: Clare Lyle
Most Promising Solo: Rose Cardinall-Redfern
Most Promising Group: Bryn Davies & Connor Lindsay

Percussion, Woodwinds, Brass

Lyle Carter Memorial Senior Woodwind Trophy $100: Henry Wood
Intermediate Woodwind Award $75: Addie Fearnley
Junior Woodwind Award $50: Robyn Edgar

Adjudicator’s Choice Most Promising Young Performer Medallions:

Senior Woodwind: Liam Bonser
Intermediate Woodwind: Maya Broeke
Junior Woodwind: Sophie Garmuliewicz


1st Place Senior Vocal Classes Medallion: Jena Crozier
1st Place Vocal Teachers’ “Under 18” Trophy $100: Claire McGillivray
1st Place Clayton’s Heritage “Under 16” Vocal Cup $75: Oliver Gidora
1st Place Dora Brooks Junior Vocal Trophy $75: Emily Stoddart
1st Place McDonald’s Contemporary Vocal Trophy $50: Zoe Hadelar
1st Place Outstanding Showmanship Award $50: Jessey Jones & Jennifer Jones
SCFPA Vocal Highest Assessment Adult Vocal $50: Edmund Arceo
1st Place Vocal Duet I & Peggy Burritt Memorial Duet Trophy: $50 Edmund Arceo & Alan Millard
1st Place Duet II Medallions: Claire & Yolanda McGillivray

Adjudicator’s Choice Most Promising Young Performer Medallions

Intermediate ‘under 18’: Madison Fancher, Jordan Martel
Intermediate ‘under 16’: Oliver Gidora
Junior: Jessey Jones


Most Outstanding Youth Community Choir: Choralations Teen Choir
Most Outstanding Adult Community Choir: A Capella Strait

Bowed Strings

1st Place Senior Bowed Strings $100 & For the Love of Music Trophy: Kiel Strang, Oliver Telfer
1st Place Bowed Strings $50 & Jack Inglis Outstanding String Trophy: Talia Strang
1st Place Intermediate Bowed Strings $75 & Tom Kershaw Medallion: Emma Conway
1st Place Junior Bowed Strings $50 & Margaret & Tony Dawkins Trophy: Acacia Slingerland
1st Place SCFPA “classical classes” String Trophy $50: Louis Dillon
1st Place Senior Bowed String Concerto $75 Stuart & Hilda Mitton Trophy: Esme McLaughlin-Brooks
1st Place Intermediate Bowed String Concerto Philip Bass Memorial Scholarship $75: Emma Conway
1st Place Bowed String Sonata $50 & Roxelyn Ethridge Memorial Award: Esme McLaughlin-Brooks
Philip Bass Memorial String Concerto Award $100: Talia Strang, Felix Savien-Rankin

Adjudicator’s Choice Most Promising Young Performer Medallions

Senior: Oliver Gidora
Intermediate: Felix Savien-Rankin
Junior: Gabriel Crudele, Mina Shibasaka

Plucked Strings

1st Place Intermediate $75: Anthony Willmer
1st Place Junior $50: Axel Loitz
1st Place Pre-Grade 1 $25: Connor Lindsay

Adjudicator’s Choice Most Promising Young Performer Medallions

Most Promising Pre-Grade 1: Frankie Cottrell

Folk Instrumental

1st Place Solo:

Senior $100: Holly Beckmyer
Advanced $75: Maya Broeke
Intermediate $50 & Ernie Chartrand Folk Fiddle Trophy: Ruby Riesco
Novice $25: Clare Lyle

1st Place Duet $50: Maya Broeke & Esme McLaughlin-Brooks
1st Place Small Ensemble: Apogee
1st Place Large Ensemble: Coast String Fiddler Junior & Intermediate
Adjudicator’s Choice Most Promising Young Performer Fiddle Camp Scholarship: Rose Cardinall-Redfern

Adjudicator’s Choice Most Promising Young Performer Medallions

Novice: Madeleine Latimer
Intermediate: Shawna Sabiston
Advanced: Felix Savien-Rankin
Senior: Kiel Strang


Classical Dance 1st Place Solo

Advanced $100 Emilie Bland, Selby Pudek
Intermediate $50 Taylor Greenaway

1st Place Duet $50 Taylor Greenaway & Franklin Cottrell
1st Place Ensemble Medallions Oriana Gray, Dionne McKenzie, Allison Powel, Selby Pudek

Stage Dance 1st Place Solo

Advanced $100 Franklin Cottrell
Intermediate $50 Talia Strang
Novice $25 Kailyn Pritchard

1st Place Duet $50 Selena Bell & Franklin Cottrell
1st Place Ensemble Bring ‘Em Out

Adjudicator’s Choice Most Promising Young Performer Medallions

Novice: Iko Iko
Intermediate: Ciara Cassidy
Advanced: Linnea Harder